Thursday, April 11, 2013

Twitter: April Biometric Chat - Growth of Global Biometrics Industry with Zack Martin of Avisian Publications

An archive of the chat is available at Storify

John has updated the M2SYS blog with the questions for the upcoming chat...
  1. Can you explain how Avisian is structured and what topics your publications cover?
  2. Do you see the biometric technology private sector is growing as fast as the analysts are predicting (by 2017 private sector will be a majority of the biometrics market)?
  3. What do you believe are the biggest obstacles to biometrics becoming an integral part of society to prevent fraud, assure electors are who they claim to be, etc.?
  4. We have seen a lot of consolidation in the biometric technology industry; do you believe that will continue?
  5. How will mobile solutions change the market in the future?
  6. Will the recent experiment with using biometrics for retail payments in France developed by National Security and PayTango’s project at Carnegie Mellon ever translate into mainstream use of the technology for the average consumer?
  7. Which biometric modalities currently in testing and additional research and development do you believe stand the best chance to become legitimate hardware solutions in the near future?
Those are good questions sure to make for a lively conversation. Details on how you can participate follow.

April 25, 2013 11:00 am EST, 8:00 am PST, 16:00 pm BST, 17:00 pm (CEST), 23:00 pm (SGT), 0:00 (JST)

Where: (or Twitter hashtag #biometricchat)

Janet Fouts, at her blog, describes the format:
Twitter chats, sometimes known as a Twitter party or a tweet chat, happen when a group of people all tweet about the same topic using a specific tag (#) called a hashtag that allows it to be followed on Twitter. The chats are at a specific time and often repeat weekly or bi-weekly or are only at announced times.
There's more really good information at the link for those who might be wondering what this whole tweet chat thing is all about.

The prospects for growth in the global biometrics industry, potential obstacles to continued growth, industry consolidation, mobile biometrics for authentication and identification, biometrics for retail payments, and new biometric modalities

More at the M2SYS blog.

Earlier topics have included:
Mobile biometrics
Workforce management
Biometrics in the cloud
Law enforcement
Privacy again
Biometrics for global development
Large-scale deployments

Modalities such as iris and voice have also come in for individual attention.

I always enjoy these. Many thanks to John at M2SYS for putting these together.