Thursday, February 21, 2013

Feb. 21, 2013: Biometric Chat on Biometrics & Development

UPDATE and bumped:

Today's biometric chat was perhaps the best yet. Having two interviewees sitting across the internet table from John at M2SYS worked quite well. With the two participants, Alan Gelb and Julia Clark, multiple lines of conversation could develop while, thanks to John and the other participants, they remained relevant to each other and the larger topic of Biometrics and Development. The resulting conversation was faster-paced than usual and a lot of ground was covered. Many thanks to John, Alan and Julia and all who participated.

In case you missed it, or would like a chance to review it, John has posted the transcript at Storify.

If you're interested in the subject pf biometrics (and if you're here, you probably are) please consider joining in the next one either to ask questions, to answer them, or to give your opinion on topics of interest in biometrics and identity management.

Originally published on Feb. 12, 2013

February 21, 2013 - 11:00 am EST, 8:00 am PST, 16:00 pm BST, 17:00 pm (CEST), 23:00 pm (SGT), 0:00 (JST)

Where: (or Twitter hashtag #biometricchat)

Tweet chat on the use of biometric identification in developing countries to help bridge the identity gap with Alan Gelb (@AlanHGelb) and Julia Clark (@juliamgclark) from the Center for Global Development.

How biometric identification helps to promote development, risks and challenges of using biometrics, emerging trends and their implications, and more.

More at the M2SYS blog.

Earlier topics have included privacy, mobile biometrics, workforce management, biometrics in the cloud, law enforcement, privacy again and modalities such as iris and voice.

I always enjoy these. Many thanks to John at M2SYS for putting these together.